First Draft- Embroidery Digitizing

The first step in digitizing embroidery is coming up with an image. I realize most digitizers use stock photos. Personally, I want something that is totally mine. No copyright issues. Even the sites that claim to have free images can still have issues if you don’t credit the original artist of every single image you use.

With the retro kitchen themed bluework, I like to look at actual vintage images. These may be hard to come by, but you can visit sites that sell vintage items. Once you find what you are looking for, you can use the ideas to create something new.

toasterI am working on four designs right now. The reason some of the eyes are missing- I will create one eye and use the copy and paste option to do the second eye. The eyes are more difficult than the rest of the design. Eyelashes are the worst. 🙂 I can’t wait to turn these sketches into stitches.

Update: Here’s how the toaster turned out. I think I will work on the flower design…

IMG_2775

 

Leave a comment