When You Assume

My oldest has grown up and is stretching her wings in our old hometown about 150 miles from here. She sent me a text today with a picture of her (my) car. “The Grandma Car”, as we call it, was hit by another driver while it was parked in front of my daughter’s apartment. Luckily, there was a report made and I am assuming the damage will be fixed.

I should really not assume anything. I will never forget Mrs. Emmison writing the following on the chalkboard in my high school English class: When you assume, you make an ass out of u and me. Mrs. Emmison had our attention. We had never witnessed a teacher write ass on a chalkboard before. Of course, we many of us smiled and some giggled. She made sure her students never forgot how to spell the word assume. More importantly, she taught us that assuming something, anything, is a great way to make an ass out of yourself.

I am hoping, anyway, that the driver’s insurance is going to pay for a new bumper. “The Grandma Car” is a 1992 Oldsmobile 88 in mint condition with only 50,000 miles on it. It is a true “Grandma Car”, as you can imagine. It was previously owned by an elderly lady who lived in a nursing home for a number of years. The car was stored and obviously cared for until the owner finally passed away. We became the second owners after that. It drives like a dream! Cruising down the road, it feels like it’s floating.

 

Leave a Reply

