Learning

I am learning how to create my own embroidery files. Wait, let me take that back. I am learning how NOT to create my own embroidery files. I say this because the only thing I have created thus far is a mess.

There are so many choices when it comes to embroidery design software. I decided to try them out one at a time. It seems most of the good software is priced between $1500 and $2000. That’s a chunk of change!

There are free trials from some of the software designers. I’m trying out a new program called Hatch by Wilcom. Wilcom has been around for a long time. They started designing embroidery software in the 80’s. That’s very impressive!

Luckily, you can try out this software for free for 30 days. I do actually mean free! No credit card is required. Here is the link: https://www.wilcom.com/hatch.aspx

If I knew anything about digitizing, I would have likely already figured this program out. I had to search a bit to find help with learning the software. There are various places to buy an online class for the program, but I knew there was free info out there.

I found the user guide here. : http://www.embroideryhelp.net/hatch10/files/it/28675531/34561014/1/1466388537973/Hatch_Auto-Digitizing.pdf

If you decide to try it out for yourself, let me know what you think!

Image Credit: <a href=”http://www.freepik.com/free-vector/boho-style-patterns-collection_910343.htm”>Designed by Freepik</a>

UPDATE 8/22:

My brand new computer crashed after only 2 days. Sadly, I lost the software trial. Fortunately I was able to return the laptop. I upgraded (slightly) to a model that was $20 more. Within 2 days it wasn’t working, either. I couldn’t find the receipt, though, so I went back to the store and bought a Chromebook. Let me say, the Chromebook was great and it was fast. Bummer that it just wasn’t a laptop and couldn’t download the programs I wanted. I returned it also and FINALLY have the right laptop for me. I’m in love with this new one.

During this period of trial and error, I also did a lot of research on digitizing software and talked to a lot of people who own various kinds. I have finally decided on purchasing StitchArt Level 2. I can’t wait to try it out!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

